Holy bad geology puns, Batman!!

12 08 2009

Good tidings and well-wishes! Mark W. Mancini here, as always!

(If anyone’s curious about the title, I watched the original ‘Batman’ movie with Adam West the other night.)

A few weeks ago, I went on a dig supervised by Dr. Hungerbuehler with my good friends Donny, Eddy and Steve among (many) others in a Redonda formation site outside of town. Though the sheer volume of fossil remains we uncovered within a mere five days certainly kept us busy, I decided to make things a little more interesting by instigating a paleo/geo-themed pun war which raged on throughout the week (criminally-bad jokes run in my family). I’ve attatched a few dispatches from this epic saga below, but before I continue I should note that all of these were ad-libbed. And for everyone out there who knows the good doctor, imagine him cringing and releasing an agonized grunt upon hearing these.

Without further ado, I present a sampling of our efforts (Warning! Several of these are very nerdy and their utilization may be hazardous to your health. Proceed with caution!):

-We crater to your every desire!

-Question: What do you call a small clast of rock with completely unknown origins? Answer: A pebble without a cause!!

Shale we continue?

-Did you hear about the editor working on the latest “Ice Age” film? I hear that he really spliced-a-scene!

-Did you know that the American Literature Society has decided to create a series of poetic tributes to every single letter of the english language in sequence? This week, they’re releasing the g-ode!

-You know, I’m growing kind of attatched to this mudstone…I guess you could say that I’m a little sedimental!

Donny: “All we’re finding at this site is teeth!” Me: “That’s what I expected, tooth be told.”

-I once found the fossilized remains of the posterior end of a small decapod crustacean. I called it a shrimp rock-tail.

-I hear that the NRA is sponsoring an ammunition convention this evening. They’re calling it an ammo-night!

-If you’re a volcanology student, can you graduate magma cum laude?

I’ll stop it right there before I loose the respect of the paleo blogosphere at large. If anybody can come up with some geology puns of their own, feel free to post them in the comments section!

Cheers!

-Mark

Actions

Information

6 responses

12 08 2009
Zach Miller

You are FIRED, sir. The Ice Age crack had me cringing the most!

12 08 2009
Nancy

I really DIG your latest post…GRANITE, I don’t know a lot about geology, but of QUARTZ as far as puns go, I am giving you the MOTHERLODE

12 08 2009
Nancy

ps this is Mark’s mom but his dad gets at least some of the credit (or blame, not that I’m throwing STONES)…

13 08 2009
tanystropheus

And this, ladies and gentlemen, is where I get it from…

13 08 2009
Heather

Holy schist, Mark, that’s terrible!!

7 01 2010
Thibbs

I was working out in the field the other day when I realized that I was knee deep in schist… and loving it!

Leave a Reply

