Good morning, Baltimore!

24 07 2009

Good tidings and well-wishes!

(In case anybody’s wondering, the title of this post is a tribute to a song of the same name from the musical Hairspray…they don’t call me ‘theatrical’ for nothing.)

Recently, Dan Wiznitzer of the Maryland Science Center has informed me that the acclaimed Chinasaurus: Dinosaur Dynasty exhibit has arrived at his museum and will remain there until September 7th.  According to his e-mail,

Chinasaurs features more than 20 full-sized dinosaur fossils unfamiliar to western audiences, including the ferocious, 27-foot-long Szechuanosaurus and the 70-foot-long herbivorous Mamenchasaurus. The exhibit also includes seven animatronic dinosaurs that make what scientists theorize are authentic roars, grunts and growls.”

Below is an “official” video which previews the exhibit. Though the narrator’s ‘facts’ are often speculative (eg: there’s no evidence that Velociraptor was an egg theif, and the notion that they were obligate pack-hunters isn’t as well supported by the evidence as most people think), the footage is worth watching for the impressive displays:

Unfortunately, I won’t be anywhere near the greater Baltimore area to see this, but it sounds like a very worth-while stop for anyone who will be.

May the fossil record continue to enchant us all!

UPDATE: I’ll be visiting New York City next week with my family, so this blog will be fairly quiet for a few days. Sadly, this will force me to postpone my next ‘Wednesday Wonders’ installment until later in the week

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 07 2009
Kelly Cotten

I’m trying to ID an apparent fossil given to me by a friend. It was found in 1952 in rural Michigan during excavation of a well. Sorry, don’t know the geology of its provenance, but we could find out – as the site is still relatively undisturbed. I think it’s a proboscid – looks like a mastodon to me, but it seems a bit small, maybe a juvenile or fetal specimen. If I send photos, could you help?

26 07 2009
Adam Pritchard

Oh lordy, the Chinasaurs exhibit! There are some neat casts and some real-fossil skeletons on display, BUT I can’t say much for some of the mounting. Three or four dinosaurs have their pelvises on backwards! I’ve sent off a message to the Science Center about that oddity.

26 07 2009
tanystropheus

Kelly,
I’m a big proboscidean enthusiast and would love to help, so by all means, send me some photos and I’ll do my best. However, I think you should consider sending your photographs to Dan Fischer of the University of Michigan as well (e-mail: dcfisher@umich.edu). He’s a mastodon expert who also has experience with most of the Pleistocene megafauna of the region, so if anyone can identify your fossil, he can.

31 07 2009
Kelly Cotten

Thanks for the gracious reply. I’ll send photos to you both this weekend. I’ve got two pieces. The first includes part of the orbit, sinus, what looks to me to be an emergent tusk, and upper jaw with an intact tooth. The second is almost certainly part of the upper skull. Both in great shape! Looking forward to all comments.

Leave a Reply

