Wednesday Wonders announcement.

9 07 2009

Good tidings and well-wishes, faithful readers!

I’ve been working rather extensively in the field recently and as such have been unable to post a ‘Wednesday Wonder’ on time this week. I’ll most likely upload it on Friday or Saturday and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

May the fossil record continue to enchant us all!

UPDATE: I must admit that I never expected to amass such an enormous response for this post from my readers! Unfortunately, since I’ll be flying back to Rochester shortly, it doesn’t look like I can add any posts until next week. 😦  However, to create a little suspense, here is a list of critters I hope to feature in the ‘Wednesday Wonders’ column at some point in the future: Thalattosaurus, Titanotylopus, Platyhystrix, and Embolotherium (as per Zach’s request in the comments section). Please note that while I find all of these beasts fascinating, there is no guarantee that I’ll be able to write articles for them, but I shall most assuredly try.

Actions

Information

8 responses

9 07 2009
Zach Miller

Figured something like that. I do look forward to the Wednesday Wonders, and I come this time with a request! Can we get some embolothere coverage, brother? Oh, they are such strange beasts!

10 07 2009
Michael Erickson

Embolotheres are cool and all, but I’d rather see some good coverage on [i]Armadillosuchus[/i]. Pretty please?

10 07 2009
Michael Erickson

Embolotheres are cool and all, but I’d rather see some good coverage onArmadillosuchus. Pretty please?

10 07 2009
Michael Erickson

Oops, double post. Sorry ’bout that.

11 07 2009
tanystropheus

Woah, I never dreamed that I’d be getting requests! This is awesome! 🙂

Zach, I think that I may be able to locate enough information on Embolotheres to write a post of substance, however I can’t provide a date for such coverage at this time. I’ll certainly do my best, bro!

Michael, as an enthusiast of paleo-crocodylians, I truly appreciate the wonderfully bizarre Armadillosuchus. However, there really isn’t very much else that I can comment on about the animal which Brian hasn’t discussed here:
http://scienceblogs.com/laelaps/2009/07/armadillosuchus_one_bad_crocod.php

11 07 2009
Michael Erickson

Okay, then. Well, whatever the Wednesday Wonder is, just make sure it’s wonderful!

12 07 2009
Zach Miller

There are two papers on Embolotherium specifically at the American Museum Novitates site, and one GINORMOUS (800+ page) paper on brontotheres generally, with good coverage of both Embolotherium species.

12 07 2009
tanystropheus

Thanks for the links, Zach! I think that with their help, I’ll be able to create an embolothere post within a few weeks (theoretically).

Leave a Reply

